Inspiring People / Street Photos

Cystic Fibrosis A Lifelong Marathon

DSC_0165 copy _DSC0087  Cystic Fibrosis is a chronic lung disease that produces a thick sticky mucus that fills up the lungs and makes it difficult to breathe. About 30,000 people in the United States have CF. In the past CF patients wouldn’t live past elementary school. Now they can live up to 30 years of age. This is a photo story of cross country runner who has CF.

To learn more about CF

click here

 

“There is no way that I’ll ever stop running,” Clayton Roll said. “Until I’m on my death bed, I won’t stop running because it’s something I care about.  I feel like it’s a positive thing to do when you’re fighting any condition — whether it’s cancer (or) any form of disease. I feel like you need something to take your mind off of what everybody tells you you can’t do.”

_DSC0135 copy

Roll takes 60-80 pills a day depending on what regimen he is on.

_DSC0005

The vest

Roll wears a high frequency chest wall oscillation vest that vibrates to break up the mucus.

 

DSC_0149 2 copy

 

 

 

To hear more about Clayton Roll’s story click here

Leave a comment